Languages in Cape Town

South Africa now recognises an impressive 11 official languages; English, Afrikaans, Ndebele, Northern Sotho, Southern Sotho, Swati, Tsonga, Tswana, Venda, Xhosa, and Zulu. Of these, English and Afrikaans (South African Dutch) are the most widely spoken.

Most people in Cape Town and the rest of South Africa speak English. Afrikaans heavily influences the way English is spoken in South Africa, and it may take some time to bend your ear around the way that it is spoken. This is in part due to the accent, and in part due to many Afrikaans words having been adopted as local colloquialisms.