Public Holidays

South Africa has 12 official public holidays. Cape Town is a popular destination for public holidays, particularly those that fall over the summer months and Easter.

It is important to remember that if a public holiday falls on a Sunday, the Monday is officially a public holiday. When the public holiday falls on a Sunday and is a 'religious' holiday, the Monday is NOT a holiday, according to the policy document issued by the S.A. government. The public holidays are as follows:

January 1 New Year's Day
March 21 Human Rights Day
April Good Friday - Friday before Easter Sunday
April Family Day - Monday after Easter Sunday
April 27 Freedom Day
May 1 Workers' Day
June 16 Youth Day
August 9 National Women's Day
September 24 Heritage Day
December 16 Day of Reconciliation
December 25 Christmas Day
December 26 Day of Goodwill
Easter Friday and Easter Monday are also holidays in South Africa.

Cape Town businesses and banks are closed on public holidays, but most shops and restaurants are generally open, except for Christmas Day when just about everything is closed - except for a handful of restaurants and accommodation establishments.